Call Central Reservations 1.800.807.3257
Sun Peaks Resort
WebcamsSun Peaks Resort Webcams
Sun Peaks Resort WebcamsSun Peaks Resort WebcamsSun Peaks Resort WebcamsSun Peaks Resort Webcams
14.2 °C
57.5 °F
8.3 °C
47.0 °F

Sun Peaks Resort Blog

Holy Cow Nordic Loppet

by Sarah27. February 2012 21:18

Temperatures were a balmy -17 when we held the Annual Holy Cow Nordic Loppet. Starting at the top of the Morrisey Express lift; both classic and skate skiers descended the Holy Cow Trail, up McGillivray Lake Trail, twice around Blue Grouse, followed by Nut Hatch and Raven Ramble, down Great Grey and finally finishing up near the covered bridge!

After the loppet we headed to the Delta Sun Peaks Resort Hotel, where we presented the awards to the winners and handed out prizes from our sponsors. The top prize was a 2-night accommodation package, 2 Nordic season passes for 2012-13 and Sun Peaks Resort gift cards.

We had a fantastic turn out, marking another successful event at Sun Peaks Resort. Being a fun event racing was not the objective of the day but for those people interested, the results are as follows:

14-17 years Female 20 km. Classic\Skate
1. Elizabeth McKenzie-Case
2. Korina Linder

14-17 years Male 20 km. Classic\Skate
1. Kevin Hunt
2. Alex McDonald

18-45 years Female 24 km. Classic\ Skate
1. Chera Rasmussen
2. Leith McKenzie
3. Lindsay McCoubrey
4. Robyn Warrener
5. Barbara Kupferschmidt Linder

18-45 years Male 24 km. Classic\ Skate   
1. Greg Johnson
2. Darren Bennett
3. Daniel Dallaire
4. Sean Monaghan
5. Christopher Nicolson
6. Marshall McMahen

OVER 45 years Female 24 km. Classic\ Skate    
1. Doris Brakop
2. Leslie Ward
3. Nancy Hudson
4. Suzi Tevendale
5. Monica Mackenzie
6. Ann Carter
7. Frances Vyse
8. Kim Madill
9. Laura Kalina
10. Tammy McDonald
11. Mary MacLennan
12. Sandy Abraham

OVER 45 years Male 24 km. Classic\ Skate
1. Bruce Mitchell
2. Stephen Lawhead
3. Charlie Bruce
4. Tim Schmidt
5. Alan Vyse
6. Daryl Abraham
7. Mike Madill
8. Pat McGrath
9. Mario Caputo
10. Heinz Ehlbeck
11. Stuart Lefroy
12. Lloyd Sarginson
13. Michael Milliette

Huge thank you to all the competitors, organizers and volunteers who braved the cold and of course the sponsors who supplied all the goodies.



Pingbacks and trackbacks (1)+

Add comment

  Country flag

  • Comment
  • Preview