-0.2hideit31.6-4.4hideit24.0-1.9hideit28.5155hideit61 Sun Peaks Resort Blog | The Bluebird Banked Slalom
Call Central Reservations 1.800.807.3257
Sun Peaks Resort
WebcamsSun Peaks Resort Webcams
Sun Peaks Resort WebcamsSun Peaks Resort WebcamsSun Peaks Resort WebcamsSun Peaks Resort WebcamsSun Peaks Resort WebcamsSun Peaks Resort WebcamsSun Peaks Resort Webcams
Snow Depth

Sun Peaks Resort Blog

The Bluebird Banked Slalom

by Sarah6. April 2012 19:25

We hosted our first ever banked slalom over the weekend and it was a huge success! Even the blizzard that blew in, bringing 13cm of champagne powder; affecting visibility and speed didn't put people off! Perhaps because it allowed for fresh tracks between runs!

The anticipation grew as the 80 competitors ascended Crystal Chairlift to get to the starting point and the time had come to back up any bragging that had been going on. Even with the blizzard affecting visibility people were going hard and setting some impressive times!

The results/times are as follows (fastest first):

Mens Masters Board
Name    Time
Carl Cowtan    1.32.73
Tyler Meade    1.40.47
Dom Koric    1.41.66
Ryan clements    1.41.69
Todd Feschick    1.44.34
Jake Gelowitz    1.45.59
Jase Petersen    1.45.72
Dave shaw    1.46.93
Jas Deol    1.47.09
David Koleszar    1.47.45
Matthew Ilnicki    1.47.58
Kent Thiessen    1.48.20
Peter Wilson    1.53.59
Don Lott    1.56.08
Horst Lehmann    1.58.16
Greg Garrett    2.09.12
Brett Tippie    DNS
Michael Costigan    DNS
Curtis Brownlee    DSQ

Mens Masters Ski
Name    Time   

Todd Collier    1.19.64
James Huser    1.21.96
Rob Palmer    1.23.49
Adam Earle    1.25.17
Robert Beaudry    1.25.68
Rudi Eiter    1.25.84
Bill Kals    1.26.69
Ian McLaren    1.26.99
Kenny Dale    1.29.91
Andre Grether    1.30.19
Tyler Meade    1.32.28
Ian Gossage    1.32.85
Dennie Mceachen    1.34.27
Scott Whitecross    1.34.99
Don Gagnon    1.36.86
Gary Wilmot    1.42.08
Len Andrews    1.45.15
Earl Mattice    2.00.54
Gerald Allgaier    DNS

Womens Board
Name    Time

Desiree Janzen    1.42.53
Marlee Marchewka    1.45.24
Erin Vogan    1.48.00
Meghan Kolodka    1.49.39
Chelsey Zaugg    1.56.18
Jodi Cowtan    1.57.13
Hannah Coulter    DSQ

Womens Ski
Name    Time

Leni Reichor    1.32.49
Caitlin McKinlay    1.41.97
Joan Gardner    1.53.40
Crystal Gillingham    2.10.12
Sarah McDiarmid    DNF
Emma Whitman    DSQ

Mens Open Board
Name    Time

Ross Thompson    1.35.77
Tim Work    1.37.67
Josef Riegler    1.40.16
Graham Rohrmoser    1.43.15
Joel Cerrie Switch    1.43.95
Jeff Palatnick    1.45.71
Chris Duffry    1.50.95
Ryan Dunn    1.53.81
Bevan Ernst    1.54.10
Chris Nowak    2.12.07
Jonathan Millar    DSQ
Ryan Wilkinson    DSQ
Joel Cerrie    DSQ
John Hinch    DSQ
Mens Open Ski
Name          Time   
Kieran Nikula    1.21.10
Jame McLeod    1.26.95
Dylan Stevens    1.28.11
Brett Dawley    1.28.54
Shawn Kisielins    1.29.00
Geoff Hatch    1.31.49
Jean-Francois Simard    1.34.71
Chance Adolf    2.14.40
Nick Morgan    DNS
Waldemar Mochalski    DSQ

It was an awesome event which everyone was stoked on! People were even boasting that the BlueBird Banked Slalom was the finest event they have ever been part of, despite Mother Nature’s efforts! By the end of the day people were already talking about next year! 

A huge thank you goes out to everyone involved; all the sponsors, Seth and the grooming team, the Events department, all the volunteers for braving the conditions, Oronge Boardshop and theBluebird Day Fund.

We look forward to next year's event, which I'm sure will be bigger and better and hopefully have some nicer weather! 



Add comment

  Country flag

  • Comment
  • Preview